10 characteristics of dharma

Those who follow the path of dharma should cultivate ten characteristics of dharma within.

1. Dhrti or Patience: In the spiritual sphere, if someone expects immediate results after starting the practice of Tantra, that would not be realistic. Therefore, be patient. Thus, dhrti is the first characteristic of dharma.

 2. Kshama or Forgiveness: Each and every action produces an equal and opposite reaction provided the three relative factors remain unchanged. But these three factors often change – because of transformation from one state to another. Suppose someone has started doing some mischief by hitting you: this action will certainly have a reaction. When the time comes for you to take revenge, you should not express any reaction yourself. In this way you will break the continuity of the chain. The point at which the cycle of action and reaction stops, due to your initiative, is called forgiveness. This is the second characteristic of dharma.

 3. Damah or Control: Damana is the state of achieving control over internal enemies – that is, debasing propensities.

4. Asteya: Asteya literally means not to steal anything physically or mentally.

5. Shaocha [swatcha]: external and internal cleanliness. External cleanliness refers to body, clothes and surroundings. Internal cleanliness is that of mind.

 6. Indriyanigraha: In Sanskrit Indra means ‘controller’, ‘headman’ or ‘patriarch’. There are ten indriyas or organs: five sensory and five motor. As they exercise control over the physical activities, they are called ‘indra’, meaning “dominating entity”. The subtler mind or atman is superior to these organs. The indriyas are to be kept in check with your mental and spiritual power. This is why in dharmic life the control of organs is considered imperative. In the spiritual sphere one will have to exercise control over the sensory and motor organs.

 7. Dhi: which means ‘benevolent intellect’. If human intellect is not channelised well it becomes destructive; it corrupts and exploits society. It may even become a demonic force. Dhi means intellect that helps regenerate society, which can benefit not only human beings but all beings.

 8. Vidya: meaning ’internal assimilation of external objectivities’. It is of two types: vidya and avidya. Avidya is mainly concerned with external life whereas vidya is concerned with internal life. According to Ananda Marga philosophy, we cannot afford to ignore the external world, and thus ours is a subjective approach through objective adjustment. Avidya means ‘modern science’. You should not ignore modern science because whle avidya helps us develop in the physical sphere, vidya, helps one strive to attain liberation. Vidya and avidya will help human beings achieve success in material and spiritual spheres.

9. Satya or Truth: and it is to be observed in your individual and collective lives.

10. Akrodha or Non-anger: a very subtle propensity. You should not be misguided or swayed by krodha or anger. Anger means to remain under the influence of nerve cells and fibres instead of being influenced by subtler layers of mind. It is therefore very dangerous. You may show anger to stop unholy activities of sinful people in society. This is called “sentient anger”.

Courtesy: Shri Shri Anandamurti, Times Speaking Tree.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s