ramayaNa in our lives

The Rāmāyaṇ in our lives

If one is disinterested in something one says there is no charm (Ram nahi) in it. From some Names in the Rāmāyaṇ one will realise how the Rāmāyaṇ is going on in the day-to-day life of a seeker.

1. Ram: Atmaram is the soul principle.

2. Sita: Adimaya is the Great Illusion. The abduction by Ravan, Her entering the fire were all a part of the play of the Great Illusion. In one’s life too the play of the Great Illusion in the form of happiness and unhappiness continues.

3. Lakshman: Laksha (लक्ष) which means attention and man (मन) meaning mind constitute the name Lakshman (लक्षमण). One’s attention should always be concentrated on the soul.

4. Bharat: The name Bharat (भरत) is derived from bha (भ) meaning radiance and rat (रत) meaning engrossed. A seeker is thus one who is engrossed in the worship of radiance.

5. Shatrughna: The name Shatrughna (शत्रुघ्‍न) is derived from shatru (शत्रु) and ghna (घ्‍न). Shatru means the enemy and ghna the destroyer. The six foes of the soul (shaḍaripu) are one’s enemies.

6. Ram, Sita and Lakshman: Ram means spiritual knowledge, Sita means devotion and Lakshman means detachment.

7. Hanuman: The activated spiritual energy (Kunḍalinī).

8. Ravan: The six foes of the soul (shaḍaripu) – desire, anger, greed, attachment, vanity and envy.

9. Kumbhakarna: Laziness

Courtesy: Forum for Hindu Awakening


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s