Twelve Important Temples Dedicated to Shiva in India – 12 Jyotirlinga Temples

The twelve important Hindu temples in India dedicated to Lord Shiva are those with the Jyotirlinga or Jyotirlingam. These 12 temples are known as Dwadash Jyotirlingam or Jyotirlinga.

Twelve jyotirlinga pictures

The twelve temples with Jyotrilinga in India are:

1. Somnath Temple at Saurashtra in Gujarat.

2. Mallikarjun Temple in Srisailam, or Shrishailam, in Andhra Pradesh.

3. Mahakal Temple, or Mahakalaswar, in Ujjain Madhya Pradesh.

4. Omkar Temple, or Amishvar, at Omkareshwar on the banks of Narmada River in Madhya Pradesh.

5. Kedarnath Temple or Kedareshwar in Uttarakhand.

6. Bhimashankar Temple at Dhakini in Maharashtra.

7. Kashi Vishwanath Temple, or Viswesh, at Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

8. Trimbakeshwar Temple near Nasik on the banks of Gautami River in Maharashtra.

9. Baidyanath Dham or Vaidyanath Temple at Deoghar in Jharkhand.

10. Nageshwar Temple near Dwarka in Gujarat.

11. Rameshwaram Temple in Tamil Nadu.

12. Grishneshwar Temple Near Ellora in Maharashtra.

Jyotirlingas on Map:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s